The Salt Compass Bookshelf: The Wingfeather Saga

Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

five stars books recommendations the salt compass madeleine hagan

wingfeather saga andrew peterson
Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

The Wingfeather Saga is an absolutely beautiful story that had me laughing the entire way through and sitting in a puddle of happy/sad tears by the end. There’s sea dragons, toothy cows, adventures and more. What more can you ask for?

Books in The Wingfeather Saga:

  1. On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

  2. North! Or Be Eaten

  3. The Monster in the Hollows

  4. The Warden and the Wolf King

  • Author: Andrew Peterson

  • Genre: Children’s Fiction

This series is special because it can appeal to so many ages. There’s a ten year gap between me and my youngest sister, and yet all four of us eagerly looked forward to the nights when my dad would read The Wingfeather Saga books to us. The further you get into the chapters of the first book, the more you come to appreciate the genius balance between the simplicity of the names and tone of the story and the depth behind the writing.

The story line follows Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby and their adventures throughout the land during the oppressive rule of creatures called Fangs. They stumble upon a treasure map accidentally and find that they hold the key to the lost jewels of the Shining Isle of Anniera. But events at the Dragon Day Festival end up turning their lives upside down, and the adventures begin. Complete with dragons, tree-house castles, a protective ex-pirate, and a deep magic in music, this story will keep you turning the pages late into stormy nights. Enjoy the adventure!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *